Sunday Stir-Fry

Last Sunday, I had a craving for some creative cooking.

While the rain drops continued to fall onto my windshield, I drove down to meet a friend at the local Ralph’s in hopes that we would come together with a delicious recipe. Two heads are better than one, right? Maybe, but when low blood sugar plays a role, I rarely can make any cohesive decision.

So we meandered around the store’s isles for a little while piping in with an idea when we saw something new. Soup soon became an option. While it sounded divine, I didn’t have the patience to let the pot simmer for an hour or two. Plus, I have never made it before on my own and it would be sort of a shot in the dark. While my partner in grocery crime confidently stated that he could concoct a wonderful soup, I had my doubts and decided to temporarily check that off the list. He will have to prove that to me someday.

IMG_1413

We then passed by the vegetables for the third time and he came up with a much more conceivable, and less time consuming lunch option. Stir-fry! The cook time for this steak-veggie-rice goulash made for a simple yet enjoyable cooking experience that I wanted to share with you all!

The great thing about stir-fry: There is a plethora of possibilities to toss in that spice things up and create an asian, hawaiian, mexican or all-out original flavor.

Here is what we came up with:

We came up with:

– 1 large carrot

– 1 red bell pepper

– 1 large zucchini

– 1/2 red onion

– 2 green onions

– 1 bag of portobello mushrooms

– 1 cup of jasmine rice

– 1 package of ready to cook stir-fry steak

– 1 bottle of gluten-free teriyaki sauce (I recommend the the San-J brand)

After purchasing our groceries, we unloaded the goods and got to chopping.IMG_1419

Before you do anything, pour the rice into a small pot of 2 cups boiling water and let simmer for 15 minutes or until all of the water has soaked into the rice. Then, cook the steak in its own pan until it has lost its pink color. Combine the bite-size veggies into another pan with a tablespoon of olive oil and allow to cook until the zucchini is soft and the onions have caramelized. Your work here is done! How easy is that?

Choose a bowl and spoon in some rice, the cooked vegetables and then top it off with the steak. Pour a tablespoon of teriyaki sauce over your stir-fry. Also, as you know, I love my sriracha and added a teaspoon of that into my bowl as well.

IMG_1422With that, sit back and enjoy your lunch. I recommend making meals like this alongside a good friend — the prep time provides good time for conversation and you can look back and with a small amount of pride at the beautifully colorful Sunday stir-fry.

Leave a comment